good ways to learn javascript, tutorials?

Talk about your website ideas, web design, coding, software and hardware.
rekanochi
Reactions:
Pronouns: he/him

good ways to learn javascript, tutorials?

Post by rekanochi »

hi! i am an absolute baby beginner to javascript and it scares me but i want to learn it so i can do more funky stuff with my website
anyone know any good resources for learning js? i'm not the biggest fan of video tutorials, but as long as it helps me wrap my head around it, i'm down!
Image Image Image

RogerMexico
Websurfer
Reactions:
Pronouns: He/Him

Re: good ways to learn javascript, tutorials?

Post by RogerMexico »

rekanochi wrote: Tue Mar 28, 2023 3:04 pm hi! i am an absolute baby beginner to javascript and it scares me but i want to learn it so i can do more funky stuff with my website
Show no fear, text editors can sense fear.

Relatively speaking, JavaScript in the browser is one of the safest ways to learn how to write programs. There’s extremely little damage for beginners to do that can’t be fixed by closing and reopening your browser.
rekanochi wrote: Tue Mar 28, 2023 3:04 pm anyone know any good resources for learning js? i'm not the biggest fan of video tutorials, but as long as it helps me wrap my head around it, i'm down!
HTML Dog is still one of the better text resources on the internet, it should get you up to speed on the basics and working with the DOM. It’s a little out of date though.

MDN is a little tougher to read at the beginning of learning to program, but it’s an invaluable resource once you “get it.”
glacial_pace
Netizen
Reactions:

Re: good ways to learn javascript, tutorials?

Post by glacial_pace »

codeacademy is a really good tool for getting hands-on experience. they'll run you through the basics here:

https://www.codecademy.com/catalog/language/javascript

and then you can choose to keep going with harder lessons or not
Starfia
Websurfer
Reactions:

Small projects are good for beginners.

Post by Starfia »